The Lincoln Institute

Vision Statement

The Lincoln Institute for the study of Leadership and Public Policy is committed to becoming the premier research facility for the study of leadership and public policy. The resources of the Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum will support scholarly inquiry into the leadership provided by Abraham Lincoln and his contributions to American society. The Institute will select outstanding and proven scholars as research fellows associated with the Institute. The work of the Institute will be addressed to leaders in education, government officials and legislators, as well as academics. The staff will assist a wide range of researchers to continue and expand the one hundred year old tradition at Lincoln Memorial University to increase public awareness of the contributions of Abraham Lincoln and their relevance to contemporary global environment.
As one of the leading centers for the study of leadership and public policy, the Institute expects to have a continuing influence on public policy for the greater good of society. The expectation is that the continued emphasis on ethical and responsible engagement in both the public and private arenas will create appropriate incentives to improve the future of public policy.

Mission Statement

The Lincoln Institute for the study of Leadership and Public Policy will provide an intellectual environment to encourage research and study into leadership theory and ethical practices in both the public and private sectors. The leadership of Abraham Lincoln reflects the relationship of leadership to public policy and provides the historical context for further research and inquiry. The Institute seeks through its research to raise public awareness of Abraham Lincoln’s ethical and ecumenical leadership style.

Board of Advisors

Executive Director
Dr. Charles M. Hubbard

Associate Director
Mr. Stewart Harris, JD

Board of Advisors
Mr. Rob Barger
Dr. Edna Medford
Dr. Cullom Davis
Dr. John Sellers
Ms. Sara Gabbard
Chief Justice Frank Williams
Mr. Stephen McMurtry, JD
Ms. Eleanor Yoakum
Judge James L. Cotton, Jr., JD
Mr. Todd V. McMurtry, JD
Mr. Sam D. Elliott, JD

Ex officio Board Members
Dr. B. James Dawson
Dr. Sylvia Lynch
Dr. Clayton Hess
Dr. Evelyn G. Smith
Mr. Michael Lynch
The Honorable Gary R. Wade, JD

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: